I had a dream…

wine_label_clip (2000x1869)

I haven’t enjoyed getting up in the morning recently. After spending at least part of the night coughing and therefore not sleeping, the last thing I feel like doing is bouncing out of bed at 06:30. The last few mornings I’ve made it as far as turning over on my stomach, propping myself up on my elbows and hacking away and then crawling out of the covers, but this morning I was SO tired that I actually fell asleep again in that position, waking up about 15 minutes later with a severely aching back!

Why am I telling you this? I don’t know really, except that perhaps the awkwardness of my position goes some way to explaining the clarity of my 15-minute dream. I don’t usually remember dreaming so it is highly unusual for me to recall actual content.  It went something like this: BookArtObject was running a book arts festival/residential week somewhere luxuriously equipped with etching/letterpress/bookbinding equipment (probably NOT in Coffs Harbour) and a well-stocked art library AND BAO members were giving some excellent sessions for visitors: I recall Monica Oppen teaching something, Ronnie taking a calligraphy class, Fiona Dempster teaching yoga (presumably because I think of Fiona’s balance and clarity!), Caren Florence taking a letterpress class on text and image, Helen Malone teaching innovative book structures and… I’d roped in practically every book artist/printmaker I know in Australia and we were having a fabulous time at our first BAO ‘event’ which was an outstanding success.

So I woke up and thought, Why not?*

 

* I hasten to add, not this year, and probably not next year either.  But 2015 anyone, after we’ve gallivanted off to China for the Impact 9 conference?   🙂

6 thoughts on “I had a dream…

  1. Hi Ronnie, Tee hee… well it’s a cracking idea; must be why I remembered it! Admittedly I did have to lie down with a cold towel on my forehead after I’d shared the dream. But I wonder, do you think the Australian book arts scene is ready for something like that? Sturt and other organisations play their part in enabling people to meet and gain new skills, but book arts aren’t a core strength. The USA has several book art intensives and it would be great to do something like that here, where scholarly activity and practical activity could be combined. I definitely don’t have the time or energy to devote to it right now but would love to know if people think it would be a good idea.

  2. What a great dream Sara. It would be wonderful to think that something like this in the book arts could happen and would be supported. A dream for the moment, but maybe a reality down the track!

  3. Hi Sara, I read this a few days ago and had a good giggle, then life went sideways on me and I’m only just back! I like your dream. I think it could be possible in 2015, and really there is a huge amount of various talents one could tap, altho any yoga I taught might leave folk in not so good shape – pilate perhaps!?!?

  4. Pingback: Fruits of our labours | doubleelephant

Leave a Reply

