Progress Report

The patient is getting better… slowly. I have, as those unfortunate enough to be in contact with me recently can attest, been sick as a dog for the last two weeks, laid low with a chest infection and none too happy about it.  It’s been made worse by the realisation that if I don’t work, I don’t get paid!  If your working week is a patchwork of short-term contracts with the carrot of doing well so that your contract is renewed or the stick of doing badly, being unreliable, and not being employed again… well, you tend to go into work anyway, don’t you?  I have, just about, been able to speak with clarity, but my audience has had to ignore the chorus of coughs in between words.

Bedroom 2 (960x1280)

Of course, the worst of it coincided with the school holidays but as these were the first holidays I’ve had to work since darling daughter started at school I suppose it doesn’t much matter. In the second week of the holidays, as I started to feel a little better, we decided to paint her bedroom wall. She is, without doubt, growing up fast and it seemed a lovely idea to mark that development with the chance of a bit of self-expression, so we’ve painted her wall with chalkboard paint so she can express herself as much as she likes! I’ve said I don’t mind what she writes but perhaps she could tactfully remove the insults about her mother before I enter the room…

Bedroom 3 (1280x960)

The first colour idea was a deep pinky-red, but in the end the wall was painted a much more sophisticated dark grey. And, since the paint shop was out of the usual base colour we had to bodge it a bit and the resulting shade is in the store’s computer under darling daughter’s name. She’s sooo sophisticated that she has her own shade of paint! It is, in some lights, a bit of a browny-grey, but we like it anyway and you can’t see it under the drawings.

Bedroom 1 (960x1280)

In between coughing fits I have been boxing up artists’ books ready to despatch to my BookArtObject lovelies, as well as preparing for my trip away. I’m suddenly rather fearful about the money side of things: although I have – TA DAA! – made my Pozible project total, the dollar’s slide is making a European trip frightfully expensive and I’m worried about how much money I’ll have with which to feed myself while I’m there. I guess the plus side is that I may come back a lot thinner than I went out, but still… it’s good to think you’ve got a small cushion in case of emergencies, but the truth is that I won’t have one. If you would like to consider supporting my project and haven’t yet done so, it’s open until the end of July and I would be very grateful indeed for your help. Just click on this link and you’ll be taken straight to the Pozible website where you can contribute.

I’d like to say a HUGE thank you to the lovely people who have already supported me: it’s amazing to receive that support and I hope you’ll enjoy hearing about my travels and seeing what I come out with as a result of my first ever residency.

I have booked my B&B accommodation in Scotland AND paid my conference fees. Next up: preparing my talk, booking UK train travel and finalising meeting up with friends while I’m over there. I can’t believe it’s only 6 weeks until I go!  Hopefully between now and then I’ll stop coughing.

Burning Question covers (960x1280)

Leave a Reply

