Vado a Venezia!

I’m not quite sure how I’m going to get there but I’ve been accepted for a residency at the Scuola Internazionale di Grafica in September. Yippee! I am so excited that the financial implications are firmly at the back of my mind at the moment. In theory my itinerary involves attending the Impact 8 international printmaking conference in Dundee, Scotland, from 28th August to 1st September, then travelling to Venice via Edinburgh and Gatwick airports, then two weeks doing the residency, back to the UK with a possible stop to teach at the London Centre for Book Arts, off to see family in Bristol, then back to Australia. I haven’t been back to Europe since 2009, so it is almost four years since I saw my father and five years since I saw my sister (who, unfortunately, will be in the USA while I’m in Europe), and of course I haven’t seen our UK friends in that time either.

DSCF0757 - Copy (1024x685)

A word of warning to all you UK-based blog friends and BookArtObject lovelies, I’m hoping to catch up with some of you too. I’ll be in Bristol and London and would love the chance to meet up with you if we can arrange things.  (Alternatively, you have six months to find suitable excuses…)

DSCN0074 (1024x720)

And on that note, I’d better pull my finger out and earn some money or I won’t be going anywhere. 🙂

7 thoughts on “Vado a Venezia!

  1. wow! lovely news for you! hope you’ll have the chance to also drop us a few pics and stories of your journey (you’ve got 6 months to figure out an excuse or I’ll be looking at the blog and asking questions 🙂 )

  2. Well, yes, it is thrilling. But you know that I now hate you, don’t you?
    I’ll miss you in Bristol as I’ll be there to see the BAO exhibition on its last day (June 28)!

  3. That’s fantastic news Sara! Well done! I’m so happy for you.
    My crystal ball shows some grant writing may be in your near future…

  4. Late to the party but very very excited for you! You truly deserve the residency and it should be a great experience – once you get there!

Leave a Reply

