Trials and tribulations

By now you’ve probably noticed that I’ve revamped my blog. I changed the look at some point last year, when I got to a celebratory number of posts but I was looking at it over the weekend and realised that Blogger had made it MUCH easier to change the format using its default templates, which are now customisable (is that a word?), so I had a bit of a fiddle around, et voila!

Then I realised that I wasn’t able to post anything… and my brave new world came crashing down around my ears.

Now for someone who used to be a cryptographic programmer and computer systems engineer for IBM you’d think I’d be happy around technology. You’d be wrong. In many situations when I might be expected to panic I’m cool as a cucumber, and my internal temperature is habitually set to ‘blue fingernails and an extra scarf please’ regardless of the weather. Once upon a time my doctor actually told me to START smoking and drinking in an effort to raise my blood pressure… He should have told me to sit in front of a laptop and start typing instead! I am reduced to incomprehension when things don’t work and “it worked yesterday, why won’t it work today?” leaves dearest husband feeling rather distressed. BUT I JUST CAN’T STAND IT WHEN THE DARNED COMPUTER DOESN’T DO WHAT IT’S SUPPOSED TO. Okay?

Never mind. Turns out that when dearest husband loaded Internet Explorer 9 on my darling little machine (which made life a whole load easier in other areas…) it ceased to be compatible with Blogger despite appearances. Luckily Microsoft helpfully included a little “compatibility mode” icon… you just have to know where (and when!) to find it. My own personal view is that IT is God’s way of showing s/he has a sense of humour.

100100001011110010100111010011100101010100010100101111 anybody? Yes………….. I’m sure there’s an artists’ book in there somewhere.

3 thoughts on “Trials and tribulations

  1. snort!!!!!

    I'm laughing myself into a stuuuupor here just imagining the scene….. I don't do binary code or I'd leave something cryptic and clever…. (here's some junk instead! 1100001010001100001010010100 its my way of saying 'breathe in breathe out')….

Leave a Reply

